Connect with us

The 1st iHeartRadio Music Awards and its Winners



The first annual iHeartRadio Music Awards ceremony took place tonight, on May 1st, in Los Angeles.

Pharrell, Shakira, Pitbull, Ariana Grande, Kendrick Lamar, 30 Seconds to Mars, Usher and few more megastars performed at the festival. Presenters included Lionel Richie, Selena Gomez, and Gwen Stefani. 


Tonight's nominees competed for a very special award – the iHeartRadio Instagram award. Music's biggest names were nominated in different categories, such as  'best song of the year', 'best collaboration', 'best artist of the year',  and 'best fan army'. 


See the list of winners below:  

Artist of the Year: Rihanna

iHeart Innovator Award: Pharrell Williams


EDM Song of the Year: Avicii & Aloe Blacc, “Wake Me Up”

Country Song of the Year: Blake Shelton, “Boys ‘Round Here”

Song of the Year: Rihanna, “Stay”

Alternative Rock Song of the Year: Imagine Dragons, “Demons”

Young Influencer Award: Ariana Grande

Instagram Award: Austin Mahone

Best New Artist: Lorde

Best Lyrics: Miley Cyrus, “Wrecking Ball”

Best Collaboration: Pitbull feat. Kesha, “Timber”

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year: Rihanna, “Pour It Up”

Best Fan Army: Rihanna, Rihanna Navy


Kehlani – You Know Wassup



Since the video’s surface of YG kissing another woman, the world has been wanting to hear from girlfriend, Kehlani. Today, the songstress finally breaks her silence in the form of a record titled, “You Know Wassup”. In the record Kehlani addresses YG, his demons, her traumas and how both collide.

Take a listen and let us know what you think below!

Continue Reading


‘Black and Blue’ Film Review



  • Cast: Naomie Harris, Tyrese Gibson, Frank Grillo, Mike Colter, Nafessa Williams, Reid Scott, James Moses Black, and Beau Knapp
  • Director: Deon Taylor
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2019
  • Running time: 108 min

Corruption in the police force has been a topic of multiple on-screen titles throughout the years. With Black and Blue, however, director Deon Taylor (Intruder) brings an alternative perspective – he does not only showcase the turbulent relationship between the Black community and law enforcement but welcomes a never seen before character – a black female lead, who is a police officer – to help understand that relationship in all its complexity.

The film opens with a scene in which the lead character, rookie officer Alicia West (Naomie Harris), is pulled over and roughly searched by two white cops while on her morning run in what seems like a suburban neighborhood. The officers release her shortly after they learn “she is blue”, then arrogantly state that West “fits a description”. Without issuing an apology, the cops leave the slightly shaken rookie be. Later at the precinct, West volunteers to cover for her partner Kevin (Reid Scott) and teams up with officer Deacon Bacon (James Moses Black) for a graveyard shift. While on patrol, West witnesses a murder of three young men by narcotics detective Terry Malone (Frank Grillo) and his crew in an abandoned factory. When West is detected with her bodycam recording the execution, the fellow officers attempt to kill her. She manages to escape. Malone, desperate to get the bodycam, recruits druglord Darius (Mike Colter) to find West. He falsely accuses her of killing Darius’s nephew (one of the murdered drug dealers). With the entire NOPD and Darius’ crew after her, West turns to her childhood friend Mouse (Tyrese Gibson) for help. Mouse also has had a traumatic encounter with the police in an earlier troublous but yet powerful scene. Concerned about a possible break-in to his store, he calls for police. When a cop arrives, he treats Mouse as if he was the criminal – shoves him against a table and threatens him with a gun. Terrified and upset, Mouse quietly breaks down.

The narrative exposes the unfortunate realities many face today. Black communities are being neglected and taken advantage of and those, who swore to protect and serve, often only follow the oath when it’s in their own interest. In this scenario, Naomie Harris’ character, is the best hope for any type of resolve. She is an outsider but also belongs, all at the same time, which makes her a perfect candidate for the job. She believes, perhaps naively, that by going against the grain and following her principles, she can earn people’s trust and amend the broken relationship between the ‘blacks’ and the ‘blues’.

Black and Blue excites with its action-filled sequences, suspenseful moments and chilling but yet beautiful sights of post-hurricane-Katrina New Orleans. Audiences will enjoy great performances and will be entertained by finding hidden messages throughout the film. Black and Blue delivers a vital modern story of crime and punishment and reiterates the notion that doing the right thing is always the right thing.

Continue Reading


Watch: ‘Let It Snow’ Debut Trailer Starring Shameik Moore



Spiderman Into The Spider-Verse star Shameik Moore plays a high school senior in a new Christmas comedy Let It Snow, based on the best-selling book by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle.

When a snowstorm hits a small midwestern town on Christmas Eve, a group of students find their friendships and love lives colliding thanks to a stranded pop star, a stolen keg, a squad of competitive dancers, a mysterious woman covered in tin foil, and an epic party at the local Waffle Town. Come Christmas morning, nothing will be the same.

The cast also includes Isabela Merced, Odeya Rush, Liv Hewson, Mitchell Hope, Kiernan Shipka, Jacob Batalon, and Joan Cusack.

The film will land on Netflix on November 8. Watch the trailer above.

Continue Reading